19 commenti

Spirits, magic and witchcraft

Ourmes or Ursitory: they are similar to the Latin Fates Parcae or the Greek Moirai, the goddesses of fate, and Gypsies are afraid of them above all in Central Europe. They are also known as White Women as they wear white dresses and they go in groups of three. They intervene when a gypsy baby is born to determine the child’s fate: one is good, one brings bad luck and the third plays a neutral role.

(Parcae)

The night after childbirth, a furrow is dug around the tent where the mother and child are and it is filled with holly to prevent the Ursitory being intimidated by evil spirits. Obviously, the ritual can differ depending on the country the Gypsies come from. When all is ready everybody must leave the tent apart from the sorceress who remains near the door, because she is the only one that can see these creatures, “and she will sing songs and whisper prayers until morning to attract good luck and health towards the baby”.

Kechali (or fates of the woods): their influence over people’s destiny stems from their virginity because they can have a love story with a human but it would be a total catastrophe. In fact, he would be driven crazy, she would lose her powers and their child would be born dead. This is the reason why the Kechali try to disappear by hiding themselves in the mountains.

As legend goes, the Queen of the Kechali Ana married King Lotcholico to prevent her people from being exterminated. They had nine children called Pathogen Daemons which are responsible for the presence of witches.

Holypi (witches): are possessed by the devil by having sex with a daemon. Their most important characteristic is the capacity to transmit the daemon spirit to men or animals and the numerous legends on them are the result of a combination of Gypsy beliefs and those of other populations (i. e. the annual festival of witches is celebrated on the night of Pentecost).

In addition to these categories, the mediator between the spiritual and earthly world is the sorceress, the real priestess of the Gypsy religion. A woman becomes a sorceress through inheritance combined with a suitable education, or by having sex with a Nivaci(water spirit). She has to predict the future, pray to the spirits or heal illnesses caused by bad luck, because Gypsies have to know what they must not do if they do not want to have a tragic fate.

 

 

19 commenti su “Spirits, magic and witchcraft

  1. This page appears to get a good ammount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

  2. Hi Michelle,
    well, how you may know today facebook or twitter are the most popular means of advertisement that you can find, and I advertise my blog in that way; or even putting different links or following other blogs. Moreover, I am very interested in this topic, and I think that when you put a little bit of your heart in your job/research or whatever you want it will be always successful. I hope I have given you a good answer.

    Gitans’ culture

  3. I’ve said that least 4844184 times. SCK was here

  4. I simply want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and actually loved your web-site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your site . You really have remarkable stories. Regards for sharing your blog.

  5. I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and site-building and actually liked your website. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You certainly have exceptional articles. Appreciate it for sharing with us your webpage.

  6. wow, awesome blog.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

  7. I dont know what to say. This blog is wonderful. Thats not truly a truly enormous statement, but its all I could come up with soon after reading this. You know so a lot about this subject. So considerably to ensure that you created me want to discover a lot more about it. Your weblog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject.

  8. I cant compare your last post from this post, they’re just magnificient

  9. I don’t want to limit my words, but this blog is simply making me speechless

  10. Fantastic website. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

  11. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. really helpful material, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, many thanks

  13. An cool blog post there mate ! Thank you for it .

  14. How come you dont have your site viewable in mobile format? cant view anything in my netbook.

  15. This blog is really good! How can I make one like this ?

  16. What an amazing read, A great inspiration to start my own internet blog. I will go ahead and bookmark now thanks once again.

  17. I’m not quite wonderful with English but I line up this incredibly effortless to translate.

  18. I have been browsing on-line more than three hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is beautiful price
    enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made
    just right content as you did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

Rispondi

